Updated on: April 18, 2023 (Added season 4 rank decay changes and comp. points changes)

Like other multiplayer games, the competitive scene in Overwatch 2 is where players of all different skill levels get to test their mettle in order to reach the highest rank possible.

Since its release in October, Blizzard's hero shooter has seen a slightly revamped version of their traditional competitive ranks and competitive play, adding more diversity and skill tiers to create balanced games. If you're confused about how the new ranking system works, take a seat, as Rivalry has got you covered on all Overwatch 2 ranked information.

Overwatch 2 Ranking System: How has it changed?

To determine their initial rank, players must play games in any competitive mode until they receive a rank. This replaces the traditional placement matches from the first game, as players would treat them as a test they needed to ace, rather than a true reflection of their skill level. Overwatch 2 players must win 50 Quick Play matches before they can participate in competitive mode, unless they owned the original Overwatch.

The new system assesses the player's skill and more accurately places them in a rank that most reflects their abilities. From there, they can continue playing ranked games and winning to climb the ladder.

Overwatch 2 now features two ranked modes for players: Role Queue and Open Queue. Role Queue locks the team 5v5 composition into one Tank, two DPS and two Supports. Players get to select which role they'd like to play, getting an individual rank for each role. For example, you could rank as Platinum 1 with your Damage heroes but fall flat in Silver 4 as a Tank.

Open Queue is a flashback to the glory days of the original Overwatch, where players can choose any hero from any role and receive the same rank, no matter what category hero they play as. This rank does not reset with each new season.

Overwatch 2 Competitive Ranks

While the original game used MMR (Matchmaking Rating) and Skill Rating (SR), Overwatch 2 competitive play relies on the player's wins/losses/draws in their games. In Seasons 1 and 2 of Overwatch 2, players needed seven wins or 20 losses/draws to get a rank update. As of Season 3, players only need to win either five matches or rack up 15 losses to get an updated rank.

Rank decay is a system previously employed by Blizzard in Overwatch 1 and the first three seasons of Overwatch 2. If players took an extended break from the game, they were slightly downranked to reflect the estimation and decline in their skill level. Players were also slightly downranked at the beginning of every new competitive season, which led to frustration in the player base.

With the release of Season 4, rank decay and its lingering effects have been completely removed in Overwatch 2. Everyone's skill tier and division for each role has now been updated to reflect their current skills.

All ranks and their five divisions are listed below in ascending order - the higher the number, the lower in the skill tier they are (5 being worse, 1 being better):


  • Bronze 5
  • Bronze 4
  • Bronze 3
  • Bronze 2
  • Bronze 1


  • Silver 5
  • Silver 4
  • Silver 3
  • Silver 2
  • Silver 1


  • Gold 5
  • Gold 4
  • Gold 3
  • Gold 2
  • Gold 1


  • Platinum 5
  • Platinum 4
  • Platinum 3
  • Platinum 2
  • Platinum 1


  • Diamond 5
  • Diamond 4
  • Diamond 3
  • Diamond 2
  • Diamond 1


  • Master 5
  • Master 4
  • Master 3
  • Master 2
  • Master 1


  • Grandmaster 5
  • Grandmaster 4
  • Grandmaster 3
  • Grandmaster 2
  • Grandmaster 1

Top 500

Top 500 is the shifting list of 500 of the highest-ranked players in your region. The Top 500 list is released two weeks into a new season and a rank icon will be available. It doesn't require a certain rank to qualify for, but most Top 500 players tend to be Master or Grandmaster players.

Overwatch 2 Competitive Points Rewards

While competing in competitive games, players will earn Competitive Points (CP) that can be used to purchase the golden weapons in Overwatch 2. You will also be awarded CP depending on your skill tier at the end of the competitive season.

Here are how many competitive points you will get per win/draw/loss. If players finish the season Diamond or above they will also earn an exclusive player title, however, they must maintain this rank in subsequent seasons to keep using the title.

Win - 15 CP

Draw - 5 CP

Bronze - 300 CP

Silver - 450 CP

Gold - 600 CP

Platinum - 800 CP

Diamond - 1,000 CP & Diamond Challenger (Open or Role)

Master - 1,200 CP & Master Challenger (Open or Role)

Grandmaster - 1,500 CP & Grandmaster Challenger (Open or Role)

Top 500 - 1,750 CP & Top 500 Challenger (Open or Role)

Golden weapons are available for every hero in Overwatch 2 and cost 3,000 CP each. Purchasing one of these illustrious guns will take a fairly-long grind and some hard work, but they are entirely worth it for the drip!

Players will also earn titles for completing a certain number of games in Overwatch 2 competitive modes.

  • 250 games - Adept Competitor
  • 750 games - Seasoned Competitor
  • 1,750 games - Expert Competitor

Rivalry have got you covered with all the latest Overwatch news including how to unlock all heroes, Overwatch 2 system requirements, the ultimate Support player guide, and tons more! If that isn't your cup of tea, we cover esports betting too, from League of Legends to CS:GO. Don't miss out!

FAQs about Overwatch 2 Ranking System

Is there ranked in Overwatch 2?

Yes, there are two ranked modes in Overwatch 2 - Open Queue and Role Queue. They are ranked separately, so you could be Silver 5 in Open Queue but Platinum 1 as a DPS in Role Queue. Competitive modes are not unlocked by default and require players to play and win 50 Quick Play games or to have owned the original Overwatch.

How is my Overwatch 2 rank determined?

In the previous game, players used to have to complete a certain amount of placement games to get their rank. In the new Overwatch, a player's rank is determined through their hidden MMR, game performance, and general win/loss ratio. If you continuously win matches, it goes without saying that your actual rank will reflect this, and you will climb through the skill tiers.

What is MMR in Overwatch 2?

MMR in Overwatch 2 has been described by Blizzard Entertainment as an internal metric/matchmaking rating that decides an individual's skill level relative to other players to create fairer and more balanced games.

Can I play with friends in Overwatch 2 ranked games?

Yes! You can group up with any number of people for a full squad of five players if you are reasonably similar in skill level. Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, and Diamond players can play with people who are within two skill tiers. Overwatch 2 Master players can squad up with anyone within one skill tier. Grandmaster players can only group within three skill-tier divisions from them.

What rank is the average Overwatch 2 player?

The average rank for players depends on the console they use. The average rank for a PC player is around Platinum, while most console players are around mid-high Gold.

How many ranks are there in Overwatch 2?

There are 7 ranks (not including Top 500), each with 5 separate sub-divisions. These include Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, Master, and Grandmaster.

What is the point of gold guns in Overwatch 2?

Although golden guns don't have any in-game benefits or bonuses, they look cool! They are exclusive weapons that add a golden sheen to your favorite hero's weapon. Plus, you get to flex how hard you've worked, as Overwatch 2 golden guns cost a whopping 3,000 Competitive Points each!