Every competitive game, whether it's Valorant or Overwatch 2, has its unique ranking system, and Valve's Counter-Strike: Global Offensive is no different! Competitive matches are the best way to flex your FPS prowess, separating the newcomers from the genuinely skilled. The CS:GO ranking system is the best way to compete against other players and see if you're secretly a pro player in the making or just an average Joe.

If you're looking for more information on how the CS:GO ranking system works, and what each skill tier is, you've come to the right place! Let's dive right in.

What are CS:GO ranks?

The CS:GO ranking system differs slightly from traditional ranking systems seen in League of Legends or Overwatch. Instead of going from Iron/Bronze to Masters, the CS:GO rank system begins at Silver, going all the way to Global Elite, reserved only for the top echelons of players.

CS:GOs ranks have been unchanged since the game was first released in 2012. CS:GO ranks represent a player's basic skill in the game as a baseline indicator of their positioning, game sense, map knowledge, aim, and more. If players want to try their luck at climbing to the Global Elite rank, they'll have to start practicing all these areas of the game to improve their performance.

How do CSGO ranks work?

The CSGO ranking system is based on a player's skill level and their wins and losses. This is known as MMR (matchmaking rating). If competitive games are won consistently, it goes without saying that the player will attain a higher rank in no time. If games are lost, then their rank will go down accordingly.

The amount of MMR players win or lose depends entirely on their individual performance and overall skill level, taking into account KDA ratio, aim, game sense, and other statistics. The rank players end up in will represent their general skill bracket and should be matched with players of a similar skill set.

There are 18 levels to the CS:GO ranking system, with no hard rank reset periods, as seen with each season of League of Legends. If you continue playing, you will only gain or lose your CSGO rank, depending on your current performance.

However, if you are absent from the game for an extended period, your rank will be temporarily suspended. You must win several competitive matches to regain your rank and have it visible again.

What are the CSGO ranks?

Here is the complete list of all the CS:GO ranks, ordered from lowest to highest with their individual sub-divisions, beginning with the first rank, Silver.


  • Silver I
  • Silver II
  • Silver III
  • Silver IV
  • Silver Elite
  • Silver Elite Master


  • Gold Nova I
  • Gold Nova II
  • Gold Nova III
  • Gold Nova Master


  • Master Guardian I
  • Master Guardian II
  • Master Guardian Elite
  • Distinguished Master Guardian

Highest Rank

  • Legendary Eagle
  • Legendary Eagle Master
  • Supreme Master First Class
  • Global Elite

According to official statistics, most casual CS:GO players will sit between Silver Elite Master and Master Guardian I. The Global Elite rank distribution is only 0.78% of all CS:GO players and is notoriously one of the most challenging ranks to achieve in any modern competitive game.

CS:GO Rank Breakdown

Silver I to Silver Elite Master

If you've been lumped into this category, it's safe to say that you are a complete noob regarding CS:GO. There's room for improvement, whether it's your aim, lack of map awareness or game sense.

To start climbing the silver ranks and make it to gold, it's advised that silver players dive into CS:GO matches for at least an hour daily to get used to the game's mechanics and learn the maps. Don't worry; you'll learn the ropes in no time!

Gold Nova I to Master Guardian Elite

Congrats! You're at the average spot where most CS:GO players are currently at. By this stage, you know every nook and cranny of every map and have logged a few hundred hours into the game.

At this rank, players should focus on finessing their mechanical skills, like aiming, peeking, tactics, and positioning. This requires patience and plenty of practice, but stick with it!

Distinguished Master Guardian to Supreme Master First Class

These ranks are reserved for players who spend their lives sweating CS:GO. These players aren't quite Global Elite/Shroud level yet, but they are better than the average casual CS:GO player.

Players at Supreme Master First Class level will have pinpoint accuracy and superior weapon/utility knowledge. Not much can be improved at this stage. Consistency is vital at this stage. Players should continue playing the game to maintain their razor-sharp abilities or risk falling off through rank decay and skill drop-off.

Global Elite

If you make it to this rank, you are the best of the best and have climbed the ELO ladder to make it to the top! You are within the tiny 0.7% percentile of players to make it to this rank and should consider yourself very skilled!

What are CS:GO levels?

Although not entirely relevant to CS:GO ranks, CS:GO levels show a player's time in the game. There are 40 profile ranks in total - upon reaching 40, players reset the rank to 1 and get a special service medal. Below are all the CS:GO levels in order.

  • Recruit: 1
  • Private: 2 - 4
  • Corporal: 5 - 8
  • Sergeant: 9 - 12
  • Master Sergeant: 13 - 16
  • Sergeant Major: 17 - 20
  • Lieutenant: 21 - 24
  • Captain: 25 - 28
  • Major: 29 - 32
  • Colonel: 33
  • Brigadier General: 36
  • Major General: 27
  • Lieutenant General: 38
  • General: 39
  • Global General: 40

Final Thoughts

There you have it! There's everything you need to know CSGO ranking system works and all 18 ranks in the game. GL HF in all your future games; remember, practice makes perfect. Work on your aim, map knowledge, and enemy team awareness first as the easiest controllable factors to improve your chances of climbing the ELO ladder.

Want more gaming news? We have a League of Legends map guide, details on Counter-Strike 2 new responsive smokes, and how to unlock allied races on WoW!

FAQs about the CS:GO ranking system

How do I unlock competitive matches?

Players must reach Private Rank 2 on their account to unlock competitive matchmaking. This can be done by playing any game mode, including Arms Race, Danger Zone, and more. It can take several games to earn enough XP to reach this level.

How do I get my first ranks in CS:GO?

New players will receive their first rank in CS:GO after winning 10 matchmaking games. Their rank will then be displayed in the main menu under their avatar picture and medals.

How do I keep my CS:GO rank?

Players can lose their rank if they take an extended break from the game. Therefore, they are advised to play at least one competitive match monthly to avoid rank decay.

How many ranks are there in Counter-Strike?

Counter-Strike: Global Offensive has 18 different tiers in its competitive scene. These ranks range from Silver all the way to Global Elite, which only 0.7% of the 900K player base have achieved.